When will you Believe?

When will you Believe?

The sun streams into my bedroom. We lay entwined, spent, basking in the aftermath of  release.  Outside, a bus churns by on 14th Street. The scent of curry

floats up from the Indian restaurant. My stomach growls.

You say: It’s a trust thing.

I say: When will you believe?

You say: What if I never do?

I say: When there’s a will, there’s a way.

You say: I’ve been hurt before.

I say: Who the hell hasn’t been?

You say: I don’t know if I can do this.

I say: But you are, you already are.

You say: I have my own life to consider.

I say: Oh yeah, thanks for reminding me.

About Robert Vaughan

Originally from NY, writer, editor, and workshop leader, his poems and fiction are widely published in print and online magazines, such as Necessary Fiction, BlazeVOX, Connotation Press, Metazen, Thrice, Literary Orphans and Housefire. He is Senior Flash editor at JMWW and Lost in Thought magazines and leads round- tables for Redoak Writing. He is a six times Pushcart Prize Nominee and his fiction and poetry have won awards, including a Micro-Fiction runner-up (2012) and twice a finalist in the Gertrude Stein Fiction Award (2013-14). His collections are: Microtones (Cervena Barva Press); Diptychs + Triptychs + Lipsticks + Dipshits (Deadly Chaps): Addicts & Basements (Civil Coping Mechanisms) and RIFT, co-authored with Kathy Fish (Unknown Press).
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When will you Believe?

  1. Tutu Ubuntu says:

    Are you trying to write a play?

  2. kimberly says:

    beautiful, haunting, real….

  3. Andrea says:

    It’s like a guessing game…for me. Let me see…

  4. Shari says:

    Yes, been on both sides of this one, like the yin-yang of every couplehood. And I enjoy the subtleties of the opening.

  5. Karen McQ says:

    Love this! You have such a knack for dialogue. Have you ever considered writing plays? (Ha! I crack myself up…)

  6. Tutu Ubuntu says:

    It could be that you are writing the next piece of creative writing for tomorrow’s posting. There is a large readership who are eager to read it.

  7. Pam says:

    I really like the clean, direct back and forth in this one. Hope you’ll consider keeping going with it.

  8. Don says:

    This has lots of potential and like Pam, I hope you continue on with this dialogue.

Leave a Reply

