On a Roll

Hello everyone,

Thanks for the outpouring and positive response I have had about my medical issues of late. My back is mending as I write and with many tests, doctors input, drug choices and gut instincts, I am positive that no matter what, I will heal, and that this might be a lot worse.

I have had so much fun with writing lately that I have hardly had time to notice much else: family visiting from another country or a bat suddenly showing up in my writing studio, just to mention a few incidentals.

Here are the links to journals that are currently publishing my work:

Tryst Magazine: http://www.tryst3.com/

50 to 1: http://50-to-1.blogspot.com

I also found out that Girls with Insurance will publish Mid-Life Revelation in June. Clutching at Straws took Part of Life: Two Ways. In August, Heavy Bear will publish two of my poems: Train Ride from New York City and Liberty Park.

I am also now an editor at jmww magazine, a nicely established, well respected online magazine that publishes a best of anthology every year. Thanks, Jen! So, writers, submit your short stories! Also, Amanda Deo at Thunderclap Press has asked for my editorial assistance with flash fiction for her bi-monthly magazine. My piece, Tardy, was included in her Numero Uno edition, and she took two of my pieces for the Numero Dos (July) issue as well. Thanks, Amanda!

New buddy, writer Meg Pokrass inducted me into the Fictionaut family last week. I have yet to post anything there, but I will. It’s an invite-only forum where you can post prose and get feedback. I’ve been on yet another submission craze lately.

Then, there is the possibility that I might be a non-fiction contributor at The Nervous Breakdown (check it out online!).

And if that isn’t enough, I am reading with a gaggle of great Redbird- Redoak roundtable folks at Cafe Fixx on June 3 at 7:00 p.m. Be there or be square.

Gosh, I barely have enough time to blog!

About Robert Vaughan

Originally from NY, published author, editor, and workshop leader, his poems and fiction are widely found in over 500 print and online magazines, such as Necessary Fiction, BlazeVOX, Connotation Press, BlazeVOX, Thrice, Literary Orphans and Smokelong Quarterly. He is Managing Editor at (b)OINK magazine and leads round- tables for Redoak Writing. He is a six times Pushcart Prize Nominee and his fiction and poetry have won awards, including a Micro-Fiction runner-up (2012) and twice a finalist in the Gertrude Stein Fiction Award (2013-14). His collections are: Microtones (Cervena Barva Press); Diptychs + Triptychs + Lipsticks + Dipshits (Deadly Chaps); Addicts & Basements (Civil Coping Mechanisms); RIFT, co-authored with Kathy Fish (Unknown Press), and FUNHOUSE (Unknown Press).
This entry was posted in Journal. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to On a Roll

  1. andrea says:

    Yea hon!!!! So proud + glad you’re on the mend. Positive, positive, positive!!! xoxo

  2. Amanda Deo says:

    You are a busy man Mr. Vaughan. I hope that your back feels better soon.

  3. Marjorie Pagel says:

    Thanks for the links, Robert. I will bookmark your blog. 49,801 hits — wow!

    Marjorie

  4. Don says:

    Congratulations, Robert. You are getting all of the attention that your hard work deserves. Keep it up! Share your writing with the world.

  5. David says:

    yes.. stream of Wellness.. keep it up.. keep the material coming

  6. Cynthia says:

    Great job with your writing Robert, keep up the wonderful news…I really enjoy reading your work, both the blog and your pieces at the journals like Tryst and 50 to 1. So glad to hear that your hard efforts are paying off.

  7. Theo says:

    You go, Robair! Wowsah, you’re on fire, boy.

  8. Shari says:

    Great work, Robert. I especially enjoyed your story “Quinn.” Fantastic! Keep up the great work, and blog whenever you are able to. Heal that body!

  9. Dez says:

    So sorry to hear about your back, Robert but I also feel like this is something you will conquer. Hang in there, try not to over-exert yourself. And your writing is soaring, as it ought to be. Hang on for the ride of your life. And thanks for letting us know where we can read it.

  10. Robert,

    You do sound like you are on a roll–good for you. Thanks also for letting us know where to find your work. Sending positive energy your way for that back to heal.

  11. kim suhr says:

    Phwew! — the pain doesn’t stand a chance, dear Robert! All this positive energy toward something you love is bound to heal you with or without doctors, drugs or voodoo!:-)

    Congrats on all your successes — a perfect example of how hard work, generosity with others’ writing and a positive attitude pay off! Bravo… author! author!

Leave a Reply

