National Poetry Month: April 12

Hi friends!

It’s that time of the month. No, not that one, silly! The one where you wake up and think, time for a haircut! I’m that way, spontaneous. I can’t decide when I leave the salon when to pre-book my next one. A friend of mine told me recently that she’s lobbed her own locks for the past several years. Bravo, I thought. I did that once, in my twenties, and ended up having to shave my head. When my buddy Gregory and I slipped into Mexico for a quick weekend getaway, the locals took me for a skinhead. Um, no.

Haircuts are us: quirky, relaxing. The favorite part of the service (they’ve done studies) from a consumer’s standpoint: the shampoo. Some haircuts make for better headstands. Some are snazzy sidling up to a roaring fire. All in all, haircuts fascinate me. And that’s why today I chose to read Evelyn Hampton’s “some haircuts” from her prose/poetry collection We Were Eternal and Gigantic at Magic Helicopter Press:

Robert Vaughan reads “some haircuts” by Evelyn Hampton – YouTube

cover art by Chelsea Martin

When  is the last time you had a remarkable haircut? How did it cling to bulwarks? Where was your gel when you most needed some? Are you still a mousse user and are afraid your friends will see you buying it at Rite-Aid?

Love your hair- hope it wins.

 

 

About Robert Vaughan

Originally from NY, writer, editor, and workshop leader, his poems and fiction are widely published in print and online magazines, such as Necessary Fiction, BlazeVOX, Connotation Press, Metazen, Thrice, Literary Orphans and Housefire. He is Senior Flash editor at JMWW and Lost in Thought magazines and leads round- tables for Redoak Writing. He is a six times Pushcart Prize Nominee and his fiction and poetry have won awards, including a Micro-Fiction runner-up (2012) and twice a finalist in the Gertrude Stein Fiction Award (2013-14). His collections are: Microtones (Cervena Barva Press); Diptychs + Triptychs + Lipsticks + Dipshits (Deadly Chaps): Addicts & Basements (Civil Coping Mechanisms) and RIFT, co-authored with Kathy Fish (Unknown Press).
This entry was posted in National Poetry Month videos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to National Poetry Month: April 12

  1. Jim McCabe says:

    I got some great haircuts back in the early ’80’s. I was living in a little college town in western New York, and I had a dear friend who could really work those scissors.

    I don’t have as much hair now, and I get what’s there razor cut by a Mexican barber. Most days I go Sam Jackson style with a Kangol 504.

Leave a Reply

